Uzhavan Unavagam- A healthy choice in Madurai

Some of us might be great foodies (Food lovers) while some love to try out new food recipes. But “Healthy eating” is something we need to practice. Eating healthy doesn’t always mean a strict diet, having a slim body or depriving yourself from eating less of your favourite food . Nutritious millet-based food intake is one great step to eating healthy. But wait, where do I get these millets and how do I cook them????? If you need an answer to this , continue reading…..

Uzhavan Unavagam (Farmer's eatery)

Uzhavan Unavagam (Farmer’s eatery)

Well, Madurai is famous for its food joints. “UZHAVAN UNAVAGAM” stands out as one such eatery to revive the traditional food culture of the Tamils like minor millets (also referred as small millets) and millets of various varieties. Though it opened in September 2011,  I happened to dine here with my spouse and team just a few days ago. I always thought any food that was healthy had a bitterness to it. But the people at Uzhavan Unvagam proved me wrong. So here’s the story:

  • I stumbled across this board on Natham Road in Madurai.

    Uzhavan Unavagam

    Signboard on Natham Road, Madurai

  • This is how the restaurant looks like

    Uzhavan Unavagam

    The restaurant during Night

  •  We found a place to dine at the open space near the entrance. Loved the concept and more than that I loved the menu card !!! For once, I had no idea of how the food items would taste. But while reading out the list, I was pretty much convinced am going to eat some healthy stuff.
Uzhavan Unavagam snacks

Snacks made using Millet varieties

  • There were few groups having their shops here. Some of the items in the menu card are
    • samai pongal (little millet), kelvaragu (ragi), kambu (pearl millet)
    • Idli and dosa made of millet flours
    • Idli and dosa made of  medicinal greens such as mudakathan, vallarai, thoodhuvelai, and mullumurungai
    • biscuits and packaged snacks prepared from millets
    • Halwa, Paniyaram and Kali
    • Soups from herbs , Paruthi paal ( a savory-sweet)
  • At this eatery I met a talented cook “Amirtham Aachi” who patiently explained to us the recipe behind the tasty food we gulped in. Her skill and unique food recipes were mind blowing. Felt she definitely needed some recognition here. She takes party orders too.. Call her at 9952180718.  She graciously gave me her business card and I obliged to visit the place often.
Amirtham Aachi Uzhavan Unavagam

Amirtham Aachi making “Thinai Dosai”.

This restoration of Tamil Nadu food is the brain child of former Madurai district collector U Sagayam. Open between the hours of 4.00pm and 9.00pm daily, it holds 4 to 5 stalls, allotted to those who cook traditional recipes. Without a trace of irony, they want to bring this healthier lifestyle to the rich and middle class city dwellers. The prices on the menu card make it very affordable. I bet you can have a healthy meal for less than Rs.100. Each item costs anywhere between Rs. 20 and Rs.30. Sad to know they don’t make much money or find a lot of customers everyday. If only the people here can do more marketing promotions, I guess the place will get more attention.

I left the place seeing the happy & content faces of the eatery owners who served us healthy food with love and concern. You cannot expect this at a KFC outlet or any AC world class hotel for that matter. Though I still love non-veg food the most, given a chance myself and Stalin (my Husband) would visit this place as often as we can. After all “HEALTH IS WEALTH”. Isn’t it?

To read more visit:

 

2 thoughts on “Uzhavan Unavagam- A healthy choice in Madurai

Leave a comment